Star Wars: All 6 Jedi Order Ranks Explained

Spread the love

Star Wars: All 6 Jedi Order Ranks Explained:-All six Star Wars Jedi have appeared on screen. Sith believe in competition, yet Jedi cooperate. The Jedi Code, which governs Jedi beliefs, has evolved over time. Master Yoda helped shape the Jedi Code in the Star Wars prequel trilogy. This Code prohibits romantic connections and limits a Master to one apprentice.

Star Wars: All 6 Jedi Order Ranks Explained

Rey’s New Jedi Order may develop new Jedi ranks since the Jedi Code evolved with each Star Wars era. Jedi could become Jedi Consular, Guardian, or Sentinel in Star Wars Legends. Canon still has these classes, although they are more like professions than rankings. In the 2020 Star Wars Book, Pablo Hidalgo, Dan Zehr, and Cole Horton describe the six formal Jedi Order ranks and the “Jedi Path” that governs their advancement.

1. Grand Master

The leader of the Jedi Order

As Jedi Masters, most Jedi retired. The wisest Jedi Master became the Jedi Grand Master. Prequel-era Yoda was Jedi Order Grand Master. The Jedi Path seeks wisdom, not power. The Jedi Grand Master is wisest, not strongest. The Jedi in Star Wars differ from the Sith, who seek power above everything else.

2. Master

The highest rank for most Jedi

Those who trained a Padawan to Knighthood became Jedi Masters because the Jedi valued cooperation over rivalry. Knights had to prove they could instruct and let go of their Padawans. The Jedi Council hesitated to make Anakin Master because he never let go of Ahsoka. The Jedi Council rarely accepted Jedi below the level of Master, but Anakin was an exception.

3. Knight

A Jedi who has passed the trials

The Jedi Trials are required for Padawans to “graduate” and become Jedi Knights. Each Jedi had distinct unpleasant experiences, hence their trials vary. The Council would designate a Padawan as a Jedi Knight once they overcame certain challenges.

Anakin Skywalker became a Jedi Knight after Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones because the Jedi Council considered Padawans who survived Geonosis ready. After being cleared of a terrorist act, Ahsoka Tano graduated from the Jedi Trials because the Jedi Council said her ordeal had proven her character. Ahsoka declined, knowing the Jedi had fallen.

Also Read:-10 Superhero Suits The Rebooted DC Universe Can Do Better Than The DCEU

4. Padawan

A Jedi apprentice assigned to a Master

After making their first lightsaber, young Jedi are paired with a Jedi Master or Knight for actual training. Before the Clone Wars, Padawans commonly accompanied their Master on off-world missions to gain experience and test their knowledge. During the Clone Wars, the Jedi Order had to assign Padawans instead of letting Masters choose. The Republic used Padawans increasingly militarily as galactic conflict increased.

5. Youngling

A Jedi’s basic training period at the Temple

Following Jedi Order membership, Initiates were divided into clans and given the title of Youngling. These clans resembled Harry Potter’s Hogwarts Houses, where Younglings took classes together. Star Wars: The Clone Wars has several Youngling tribes. Cavan Scott’s audiobook Dooku: Jedi Lost names the Hawkbat, Heliost, and Thranta clans. All clan members are escorted to Ilum, a Force vergence, to get kyber crystals for their first lightsabers when they reach a specific age.

6. Initiate

A Jedi is brought to the Temple at a young age

Potential Jedi must first be recruited as Jedi Initiates. Toddlers with Force connections are initiates. Since toddlers and newborns had yet to build strong family bonds, the Jedi recruited young members. This is why Anakin Skywalker was initially barred from the Jedi in Star Wars: Episode I—The Phantom Menace. Yoda and Windu believed Anakin’s affection to his mother had contaminated him.

Leave a Comment